Blog Hop

Winter Bookish Blog Hop – Last Book You Read

Bookish Blog Hops_ Winter 2019 Hop 2

Today’s question is : What is the last book you read?

I’ve recently finished two books, Normal People by Sally Rooney, and Cress by Marissa Meyer.

Normal People

Normal People follows two young people, whose secret relationship in high school ends disastrously. Throughout their years in college, they are magnetically, irresistibly drawn back together, but while she veers into self-destruction, he begins to search for meaning elsewhere, and each must confront how far they are willing to go to save the other.

Cress (The Lunar Chronicles, #3)

Cress is the third book in the Lunar Chronicles by Merissa Meyer. In Cress, w get to know our Rapunzel, imagined here as a brilliant hacker kept captive in a satellite orbiting earth… Meanwhile, Cinder is still trying to master her new abilities, whilst coming up with a plan to stop Queen Levana’s marriage to Emperor Kai.


Here’s what our bookish friends had to say!

Snatched Words

Danielle at Snatched Words
The last book I read was ‘Blind Witness’ by Vicki Goldie. This is her debut novel and I was sent a copy to review as part of a blog tour. Here’s the book blurb: “This is book one in a series of humorous murder mysteries and introduces young sleuths The Hon Melissa Charters and her war veteran husband Major Alastair Charters. In 1922 a blind WW1 veteran and former intelligence officer attends a weekend with his aristocratic wife and her family at a country house in the New Forest, Hampshire, England. Fourteen people sit down to dinner on the Friday night; by the end of the weekend there are two murders, an attempted murder and a suicide.
The pair collaborate using Melissa’s powers of observation and Alasdair’s old skills gained in the Secret Intelligence Service to investigate the events unfolding over the weekend. A murder mystery with a spy plot told from many different points of view in the tradition of Simon Brett, M C Beaton and Kerry Greenwood. Will our investigators discover who is behind the murders?”


Kaili (Entertainingly Nerdy)

Kaili at Entertaining Nerdy
The last book that I read is called All of the Lovely Pieces. This is a thriller about a woman who is constantly on the move with her son. Her ex husband is a psychopath. She wants to make sure that her son is safe from him so they never stay anywhere long. But when her son actually makes a friend and doesn’t want to move again what does she do?


Eline at Lovely Audiobooks
The last book I finished was Murder at Mistletoe Manor by Holly Tierney-Bedord. It’s a cozy mystery novella about a small and remote bed & breakfast. Unexpectedly, all rooms are booked out for one night even though the guests didn’t mention any connection. When they arrive, they’re all very surprised as it turns out they went to school together. Then accidents start to happen….


Jo Linsdell

Jo Linsdell at Jo Linsdell
The last book I finished was the audiobook We Don’t Talk About Her by Andersen Prunty. It was narrated by Brett Schumacher. What can I say about it? Well, it was disturbing. It’s like an episode of Criminal Minds but with only the messed up bad guys. There is literally no good guys in the whole story, and it leaves you thinking about which of the characters was the most messed up. Stalking, obsession, manipulation, sex with a corpse… this had it all.
Narration took me a few chapters to get into but overall worked well with the story. It contained some strong imagery and swearing. Not my usual choice but at 1 hour and 49 minutes in length it got me through my morning ironing session.


Alix at A Pint Sized Life Blog
I just finished Ninth House by Leigh Bardugo. It was weird and definitely fantastical! Not something I would normally pick up, but the synopsis, bookstagram and the reviews for it totally sucked me in.


Cats Luv Coffee

Valerie at Cats Luv Coffee
The last book is read was Inheritance by Gail Z. Martin. It’s #4 in her Deadly Curiosities series. I’ve reviewed Tangled Web, which was #3 and I really enjoyed it. It’s based in Charleston, S.C. at an antique and curio store with a dark secret. The owners are part of an alliance whose job it is to take dangerous magical and supernatural items out of circulation. The author does a great job at making likeable characters and fun supernatural oddities.


Leslie Conzatti

Leslie Conzatti at Up Stream Writer
The last print book I read was The Sentence Is Death by Anthony Horowitz. It’s the second book in his Inspector Hawthorne series, where he engages in some of the best self-insertion I’ve ever read! The premise is there’s this insufferable boor who used to be a detective with Scotland Yard, who now engages in “private investigative consulting”… and he happens across “Tony” himself in the course of the case, and decides that since Anthony is a writer, then who better to play the “Watson” to Hawthorne’s “Sherlock” and chronicle his daring exploits and meticulous process as he solves crimes! Horowitz throws in references to his own writing credits, like his work on Doctor Who and Foyle’s War, as well as the series he’s known for, Alex Rider and a few Sherlock novels commissioned by the Sir Arthur Conan Doyle Foundation. It’s hilarious, the mysteries take all the twists and turns, and I can almost (almost) stand Hawthorne if it means I get more of that good old-fashioned “whodunnit” from Horowitz!
The last ebook I read was super-short, more like a “prequel novella” to the main series, it feels like. (Even though it’s listed as the first book in the series) Red The Wolf Tracker kicks off Pauline Creeden’s “Wonderland Guardian Academy” series, where the characters from various fairy tales we’ve all heard and loved are teens or twentysomethings who attend a school together. “Red” is of course “Little Red Riding Hood” and it’s got all the pieces: an ailing grandmother, a pack of werewolves–even a young man by the name of Peter who is Red’s childhood friend. The problem is, Red is just coming into her position as Wolf Tracker, tasked with hunting and slaying the werewolves–and the pack alpha has recently turned Peter himself into one of them. Can Peter and Red figure out the new dynamic before either of them is required to kill the other?
I’ve read a couple other fairy-tale re-tellings by Creeden, and some steampunk as well as a post-apocalyptic horror tale from her, and she does a fantastic job creating a really enjoyable story!


Writer Side of Life - Kim

Kim at Writer Side Of Life
The last book I read was Take Off Your Pants! And while it sounds like some sort of romance novel, it is actually a book about how to plot your novel. More specifically, how to learn to become a plotter and plan out your book, instead of flying by the seat of your pants (“pantser”).
I found the book very useful as it bases everything around what the main character wants. That is the driving force of the whole book. It has heaps of really relevant examples too.


Copy of RobinRobin at Robin Loves Reading 

Hi. I just finished book #501 for 2019, and book #34 for November. The last book I read was The Little Bookshop on the Siene by Rebecca Raisin. I am doing this for a blog tour for early January. It was a cute story, but not one of my favorites. What I did like about the book is that the protagonist is a bookshop owner, Sarah Smith She reveres her books. I loved how she felt books were alive, how they affected her and other readers, and how she only sold books to people who would appreciate how valuable they are. I never read a book where books played such an important role. The story was that Sarah traded her bookshop for a time with a friend of hers in Paris. She was going to run her friend Chloe’s bookshop and Chloe was going to run hers. Chloe was suffering a broken heart and wanted to get away, so came up with the idea that they traded bookshops I did not like the romance in the book, it was too sugary. The protagonist’s lover was just too perfect. I hated the way he always called her “Sarah Smith”. Maybe that was supposed to be adorable, but it aggravated me. But, the book was sweet in the sense that there was no sex in the book. I will rate this book a four, and am happy to move on to my next book.


Erica Robyn HeadshotErica Robyn at Erica Robyn Reads

The last book I read was a comic titled Samurai Slasher – Late Fees. This comic was written by Mike Garley, art by Lukasz Kowalczuk, colors and letters by Lukasz Mazur. Late Fees is a powerful comic about facing the monsters of life. The tale was wonderfully organized and the artwork was beautiful! I highly recommend checking this one out if you enjoy comics with a deep storyline.


Let us know what you’ve recently read! And don’t forget to check out tomorrow’s topic, a book set in another country, which will be hosted by Becki, at A Book Lover’s Adventures!

Signature the bookworm mummy book review website tania-richardson.com

11 thoughts on “Winter Bookish Blog Hop – Last Book You Read”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s